Breakfast With Me

While at my sisters apartment last month, I decided to make breakfast. Now, my typical breakfast is cereal (Cocoa Krispies, duh).  And on the weekends I spoil myself with Hawai’i favorites like eggs, rice, and spam or pancakes.  But this time, I decided to try something new.   I decided to go with biscuits because I’m already a sucker anything that’s warm and bread-like.  I chose Paula Deen’s recipe because let’s face it, the instructions were simple and the ingredients were minimal.

My sister doesn’t believe in sugar so she substitutes honey for sugar in just about everything.  So when this recipe called for sugar, I could either skip sugar or use honey.  So in this recipe, you can use honey which tastes just as good.  The other difference between my preparation is that I pulled the dough apart which let the biscuits shape naturally.  This recipe will not disappoint.

Ingredients

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons butter, cubed
3/4 cup milk

Directions
In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt together. Cut butter into mixture until it begins to look like cornmeal.

Make a well with flour mixture and slowly add milk into the middle. Knead dough with your fingers and add milk when necessary. Roll out dough onto a lightly floured surface and roll out to desired thickness. Cut with small biscuit cutter.

Butter bottom of skillet and place biscuits in pan. Cover and place on top of hot coals in the fireplace. Carefully place some hot coals on top of the skillet cover. Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown.

I used Guava Jelly, which I prefer over any other spread.  It is sweeter but oh so delicious!  When the biscuits come out of the oven, be patient and let them cool for a few minutes to ensure that they have the perfect crisp.  Next, I’m hoping to create my own homemade jelly.

photo 1 copy 3
My Favorite Biscuit Recipe
Leave a Reply

